Static GK : General Knowledge (GK) for Competitive Exams

Sarkari Pariksha updates the list of important GK topics for Banking Exams, IBPS, TET, SSC, Railway, RRB and all other competitive Exams. Relevant GK topics will help you to get exam ready.

Static GK > List of Governor-general and Viceroy of India


List of Governor-general and Viceroy of India

British territories were broadly divided into administrative units called Presidencies. There were three Presidencies: Bengal, Madras and Bombay. Each was ruled by a Governor. The supreme head of the administration was the Governor-General. More such information on different Viceroys and Governor-General Of India along with the major reforms brought by them are given below in the form of a list. This is quite important to remember for aspirants of various governmnet exams and other competitive exams.

Significant Events Related with Important Governors-General & Viceroys of India

Governors-General & Viceroys

Events during the reign

Warren Hastings (1773-1785)

Ø  Regulating Act of 1773

Ø  The Rohilla War of 1774

Ø  The First Maratha War in 1775-82 and the Treaty of Salbai in 1782

Ø  Pitt’s India Act of 1784

Ø  Second Mysore War in 1780-84

Lord Cornwallis (1786-1793)

Ø  Third Mysore War (1790-92) and Treaty of Seringapatam (1792)

Ø  Cornwallis Code (1793)

Ø  Permanent Settlement of Bengal, 1793

Lord Wellesley (1798-1805)

Ø  Introduction of the Subsidiary Alliance System (1798)

Ø  Fourth Mysore War (1799)

Ø  Second Maratha War (1803-05)

Lord Minto I (1807-1813)

Ø  Treaty of Amritsar with Ranjit Singh (1809)

Lord Hastings (1813-1823)

Ø  Anglo-Nepal War (1814-16) and the Treaty of Sagauli, 1816

Ø  Third Maratha War (1817-19) and dissolution of Maratha Confederacy

Ø  Establishment of Ryotwari System (1820)

Lord Amherst (1823-1828)

Ø  First Burmese War (1824-1826)

Lord William Bentinck (1828-1835)

Ø  Abolition of Sati System (1829)

Ø  Charter Act of 1833

Lord Auckland (1836-1842)

Ø  First Afghan War (1838-42)

Lord Hardinge I (1844-1848)

Ø  First Anglo-Sikh War (1845-46) and the Treaty of Lahore (1846).

Ø  Social reforms like the abolition of female infanticide

Lord Dalhousie (1848-1856)

Ø  Second Anglo-Sikh War (1848-49)

Ø  The annexation of Lower Burma (1852)

Ø  Introduction of the Doctrine of Lapse

Ø  Wood’s Despatch 1854

Ø  Laying down of first railway line connecting Bombay and Thane in 1853

Ø  Laying down of first railway line connecting Bombay and Thane in 1853

Ø  Establishment of PWD

Lord Canning (1856-1862)

Ø  Revolt of 1857

Ø  Establishment of three universities at Calcutta, Madras and Bombay in 1857

Ø  Abolition of East India Company and transfer of control to the Crown by the Government of India Act, 1858

Ø  Indian Councils Act of 1861

Lord John Lawrence (1864-1869)

Ø  Bhutan War (1865)

Ø  Establishment of the High Courts at Calcutta, Bombay and Madras (1865)

Lord Lytton (1876-1880)

Ø  The Vernacular Press Act (1878)

Ø  The Arms Act (1878)

Ø  The Second Afghan War (1878-80)

Ø  Queen Victoria assumed the title of ‘Kaiser-i-Hind’ or Queen Empress of India

Lord Ripon (1880-1884)

Ø  The first Factory Act (1881)

Ø  Repeal of the Vernacular Press Act (1882)

Ø  Government resolution on local self-government (1882)

Ø  Hunter Commission on education (1882)

Ø  The Ilbert Bill controversy (1883-84)

Lord Dufferin (1884-1888)

Ø  The Third Burmese War (1885-86).

Ø  Establishment of the Indian National Congress (1885)

Lord Lansdowne (1888-1894)

Ø  Factory Act (1891).

Ø  Indian Councils Act (1892).

Ø  Setting up of Durand Commission (1893)

Lord Curzon (1899-1905)

Ø  Appointment of Police Commission (1902)

Ø  Appointment of Universities Commission (1902)

Ø  Indian Universities Act (1904).

Ø  Partition of Bengal (1905)

Lord Minto II (1905-1910)

Ø  Swadeshi Movements. (1905-11)

Ø  Establishment of Muslim League (1906)

Ø  Surat Split of Congress (1907)

Ø  Morley-Minto Reforms(1909)

Lord Hardinge II (1910-1916)

Ø  Annulment of Partition of Bengal (1911)

Ø  Transfer of capital from Calcutta to Delhi (1911).

Ø  Establishment of the Hindu Mahasabha (1915)

Lord Chelmsford (1916-1921)

Ø  Lucknow pact (1916)

Ø  Champaran Satyagraha (1917)

Ø  Montagu’s August Declaration (1917)

Ø  Government of India Act (1919)

Ø  The Rowlatt Act (1919)

Ø  Jallianwalla Bagh massacre (1919)

Ø  Launch of Non-Cooperation and Khilafat Movements

Lord Reading (1921-1926)

Ø  Chauri Chaura incident (1922)

Ø  Withdrawal of Non-Cooperation Movement (1922)

Ø  Establishment of Swaraj Party(1922)

Ø  Kakori train robbery (1925)

Lord Irwin (1926-1931)

Ø  Simon Commission to India (1927)

Ø  Harcourt Butler Indian States Commission (1927)

Ø  Nehru Report (1928)

Ø  Deepavali Declaration (1929)

Ø  Lahore session of the Congress (Purna Swaraj Resolution) 1929

Ø  Dandi March and the Civil Disobedience Movement (1930)

Ø  First Round Table Conference (1930)

Ø  Gandhi-Irwin Pact (1931)

Lord Willingdon (1931-1936)

Ø  Communal Award (1932)

Ø  Second & Third Round Table Conference (1932)

Ø  Poona Pact (1932)

Ø  Government of India Act of 1935

Lord Linlithgow (1936-1944)

Ø  Resignation of the Congress ministries after the outbreak of the Second World War (1939)

Ø  Tripuri Crisis & formation of Forward Bloc (1939)

Ø  Lahore Resolution of the Muslim League (demand for a separate state for Muslims) 1940

Ø  ‘August Offer’ (1940)

Ø  Formation of the Indian National Army (1941)

Ø  Cripps Mission (1942)

Ø  Quit India Movement (1942)

Lord Wavell (1944-1947)

Ø  C. Rajagopalachari’s CR Formula (1944)

Ø  Wavell Plan and the Simla Conference (1942)

Ø  Cabinet Mission (1946)

Ø  Direct Action Day (1946)

Ø  Announcement of end of British rule in India by Clement Attlee (1947)

Lord Mountbatten (1947-1948)

Ø  June Third Plan (1947)

Ø  Redcliff commission (1947)

Ø  India’s Independence (15 August 1947)

Chakravarti Rajagopalachari (1948-1950)

Ø  Last Governor-General of India, before the office, was permanently abolished in 1950