List of Governor-general and Viceroy of India

List of Governor-general and Viceroy of India

Static GK   /   List of Governor-general and Viceroy of India

Change Language English

British territories were broadly divided into administrative units called Presidencies. There were three Presidencies: Bengal, Madras and Bombay. Each was ruled by a Governor. The supreme head of the administration was the Governor-General. More such information on different Viceroys and Governor-General Of India along with the major reforms brought by them are given below in the form of a list. This is quite important to remember for aspirants of various governmnet exams and other competitive exams.

Significant Events Related with Important Governors-General & Viceroys of India

Governors-General & Viceroys

Events during the reign

Warren Hastings (1773-1785)

Ø  Regulating Act of 1773

Ø  The Rohilla War of 1774

Ø  The First Maratha War in 1775-82 and the Treaty of Salbai in 1782

Ø  Pitt’s India Act of 1784

Ø  Second Mysore War in 1780-84

Lord Cornwallis (1786-1793)

Ø  Third Mysore War (1790-92) and Treaty of Seringapatam (1792)

Ø  Cornwallis Code (1793)

Ø  Permanent Settlement of Bengal, 1793

Lord Wellesley (1798-1805)

Ø  Introduction of the Subsidiary Alliance System (1798)

Ø  Fourth Mysore War (1799)

Ø  Second Maratha War (1803-05)

Lord Minto I (1807-1813)

Ø  Treaty of Amritsar with Ranjit Singh (1809)

Lord Hastings (1813-1823)

Ø  Anglo-Nepal War (1814-16) and the Treaty of Sagauli, 1816

Ø  Third Maratha War (1817-19) and dissolution of Maratha Confederacy

Ø  Establishment of Ryotwari System (1820)

Lord Amherst (1823-1828)

Ø  First Burmese War (1824-1826)

Lord William Bentinck (1828-1835)

Ø  Abolition of Sati System (1829)

Ø  Charter Act of 1833

Lord Auckland (1836-1842)

Ø  First Afghan War (1838-42)

Lord Hardinge I (1844-1848)

Ø  First Anglo-Sikh War (1845-46) and the Treaty of Lahore (1846).

Ø  Social reforms like the abolition of female infanticide

Lord Dalhousie (1848-1856)

Ø  Second Anglo-Sikh War (1848-49)

Ø  The annexation of Lower Burma (1852)

Ø  Introduction of the Doctrine of Lapse

Ø  Wood’s Despatch 1854

Ø  Laying down of first railway line connecting Bombay and Thane in 1853

Ø  Laying down of first railway line connecting Bombay and Thane in 1853

Ø  Establishment of PWD

Lord Canning (1856-1862)

Ø  Revolt of 1857

Ø  Establishment of three universities at Calcutta, Madras and Bombay in 1857

Ø  Abolition of East India Company and transfer of control to the Crown by the Government of India Act, 1858

Ø  Indian Councils Act of 1861

Lord John Lawrence (1864-1869)

Ø  Bhutan War (1865)

Ø  Establishment of the High Courts at Calcutta, Bombay and Madras (1865)

Lord Lytton (1876-1880)

Ø  The Vernacular Press Act (1878)

Ø  The Arms Act (1878)

Ø  The Second Afghan War (1878-80)

Ø  Queen Victoria assumed the title of ‘Kaiser-i-Hind’ or Queen Empress of India

Lord Ripon (1880-1884)

Ø  The first Factory Act (1881)

Ø  Repeal of the Vernacular Press Act (1882)

Ø  Government resolution on local self-government (1882)

Ø  Hunter Commission on education (1882)

Ø  The Ilbert Bill controversy (1883-84)

Lord Dufferin (1884-1888)

Ø  The Third Burmese War (1885-86).

Ø  Establishment of the Indian National Congress (1885)

Lord Lansdowne (1888-1894)

Ø  Factory Act (1891).

Ø  Indian Councils Act (1892).

Ø  Setting up of Durand Commission (1893)

Lord Curzon (1899-1905)

Ø  Appointment of Police Commission (1902)

Ø  Appointment of Universities Commission (1902)

Ø  Indian Universities Act (1904).

Ø  Partition of Bengal (1905)

Lord Minto II (1905-1910)

Ø  Swadeshi Movements. (1905-11)

Ø  Establishment of Muslim League (1906)

Ø  Surat Split of Congress (1907)

Ø  Morley-Minto Reforms(1909)

Lord Hardinge II (1910-1916)

Ø  Annulment of Partition of Bengal (1911)

Ø  Transfer of capital from Calcutta to Delhi (1911).

Ø  Establishment of the Hindu Mahasabha (1915)

Lord Chelmsford (1916-1921)

Ø  Lucknow pact (1916)

Ø  Champaran Satyagraha (1917)

Ø  Montagu’s August Declaration (1917)

Ø  Government of India Act (1919)

Ø  The Rowlatt Act (1919)

Ø  Jallianwalla Bagh massacre (1919)

Ø  Launch of Non-Cooperation and Khilafat Movements

Lord Reading (1921-1926)

Ø  Chauri Chaura incident (1922)

Ø  Withdrawal of Non-Cooperation Movement (1922)

Ø  Establishment of Swaraj Party(1922)

Ø  Kakori train robbery (1925)

Lord Irwin (1926-1931)

Ø  Simon Commission to India (1927)

Ø  Harcourt Butler Indian States Commission (1927)

Ø  Nehru Report (1928)

Ø  Deepavali Declaration (1929)

Ø  Lahore session of the Congress (Purna Swaraj Resolution) 1929

Ø  Dandi March and the Civil Disobedience Movement (1930)

Ø  First Round Table Conference (1930)

Ø  Gandhi-Irwin Pact (1931)

Lord Willingdon (1931-1936)

Ø  Communal Award (1932)

Ø  Second & Third Round Table Conference (1932)

Ø  Poona Pact (1932)

Ø  Government of India Act of 1935

Lord Linlithgow (1936-1944)

Ø  Resignation of the Congress ministries after the outbreak of the Second World War (1939)

Ø  Tripuri Crisis & formation of Forward Bloc (1939)

Ø  Lahore Resolution of the Muslim League (demand for a separate state for Muslims) 1940

Ø  ‘August Offer’ (1940)

Ø  Formation of the Indian National Army (1941)

Ø  Cripps Mission (1942)

Ø  Quit India Movement (1942)

Lord Wavell (1944-1947)

Ø  C. Rajagopalachari’s CR Formula (1944)

Ø  Wavell Plan and the Simla Conference (1942)

Ø  Cabinet Mission (1946)

Ø  Direct Action Day (1946)

Ø  Announcement of end of British rule in India by Clement Attlee (1947)

Lord Mountbatten (1947-1948)

Ø  June Third Plan (1947)

Ø  Redcliff commission (1947)

Ø  India’s Independence (15 August 1947)

Chakravarti Rajagopalachari (1948-1950)

Ø  Last Governor-General of India, before the office, was permanently abolished in 1950

Other Post's