List of Indian Prime Ministers

List of Indian Prime Ministers

Static GK   /   List of Indian Prime Ministers

Change Language English

In the scheme of the parliamentary system of government provided  by the Constitution, the President is the nominal executive authority (de jure executive) and the Prime Minister is the de facto executive authority (the de facto executive). If we say in other words, the President is the head of the state whereas the Prime Minister is the head of the government. Here, we have mentioned the list of All Indian Prime Ministers and their duration in the parliament, for you to remember while preparing for various government exams and other competitive exams.

Prime Minister of India List

Prime Minister Name


Jawahar Lal Nehru

15th Aug 1947 to 27th May 1964

Gulzarilal Nanda

27th May 1964 to 9th  June 1964

Lal Bahadur Shastri

9th June 1964 to 11th Jan 1966

Gulzarilal Nanda

11th Jan 1966 to 24th Jan 1966

Indira Gandhi

24th Jan 1966 to 24th March 1977

Morarji Desai

24th March 1977 to 28th July 1979

Charan Singh

28th July 1979 to 14th Jan 1980

Indira Gandhi

14th Jan 1980 to 31st Oct 1984

Rajiv Gandhi

31st Oct  1984 to 2nd Dec 1989

Vishwanath Pratap Singh

2nd Dec 1989 to 10th Nov 1990

Chandra Shekhar

10th Nov 1990 to 21st Jun 1991

P.V. Narasimha Rao

21st June 1991 to 16th May 1996

Atal Bihari Vajpayee

16th May 1996 to 1st June 1996

H.D. Deve Gowda

1st June 1996 to 21st April 1997

Inder Kumar Gujral

21st April 1997 to 19th March 1998

Atal Bihari Vajpayee

19th March 1998 to 22nd May 2004

Dr. Manmohan Singh

22nd May 2004 to 26th May 2014

Narendra Damodardas Modi

26th May 2014 to Incumbent

Other Post's